Assembly elections in Maharashtra, Haryana, Arunachal Pradesh on Oct.13

New Delhi: Election Commission of India (ECI) on Monday announced Electronic Voting Machines will be used in all the three States -Maharashtra, Haryana, and Arunachal Pradesh that undergo elections on October 13.

The single-phased elections will be held for total 438 State Assembly seats-- 288 (Maharashtra), 90 (Haryana), and 60 (Arunachal).

Addressing a press conference, Chief Election Commissioner Naveen Chawla said that the three States of Maharashtra, Haryana, and Arunachal Pradesh will undergo Assembly elections of October 13 and the counting will be held on October 22.

"The decision has been taken after considering the all the factors including public holidays, academic calendar, climatic conditions, time required to deployment of forces etc", he added.

The voting will be done through Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). Use of any religious place for election campaigning and seeking votes on the basis of religion or Jaati will amount to violation of code of conduct for elections, the CEC said.

The notification of the election would be issued on September 18, the last day for filing of nomination will be September 25, scrutiny of nomination will be held n September 26, and the last day for withdrawing of nomination will be September 29.

The election process will complete on October 25.

The Election Commissioned also prohibited police personnel or officials from being appointed in their home cities.

Chawla said the election Commission has decided to hold the election as per the electoral roll prepared for the General elections held in May. But still the commission has decided to hold a special round of revision as per 1-1-2009.

"No official having a controversial record will be appointed during the poll process," said the CEC.

Over 7, 55,000 people in Arunachal Pradesh, 1,20,63,000 in Haryana, and over 7,56,34,000 people are registered in the electoral roles.

The election commission will set up 2,061 booths I Arunachal Pradesh, 12,894 in Haryana and 82,028 booths in Maharashtra for the polling.

The Election Commission has also directed its all State Election Boards to start help lines for public.

There are 82,028 (Maharashtra), 12,894 (Haryana), and 2,061 (Arunachal Pradesh) polling centres in the three states.

The percentage of people having voter identity cards in three States is 67 % (Maharashtra), 99% (Haryana), and 87 % (Arunachal Pradesh).

Chawla said a camera will be installed in each and every polling booth and the CD will remain with the custody of the District Election Officer (DEO). Any individual, who would like to have a copy of the CD, can get the same from the DEO by paying the prescribed fee.

He also asked the DEO to retain a master copy of the CD, so that it will help the commission to produce the details in case of any writs were filed in the court relating the election disputes.


Read also-
What Maharastrian Muslims really want!
Electoral Calculus and Dalit Muslims: Towards Shaping an Agenda


Posts a comment

© Indian Dalit Muslims' Voice
Back to top